Permanently Deleting Your Facebook 2018

While the recent revelations over Facebooks unauthorized use of user content like Posts, messages, videos and pictures is nothing new. Not the first time such allegations have come to light and doubtful to be the last. It would be perfectly understandable if you found the latest betrayal to be one too many and opt to completely delete your facebook account to protect your privacy. In this blog we shall find out exactly how you can do that.

What's different this time?

What makes the latest Facebook betrayal different? While we have come to expect our privacy not to be respected in some ways this time with the revelation that even info we thought had been removed from our accounts is actually not permanently deleted may spare you to take what you may once have seen as drastic action and actually insure that your Facebook account and all information that contains is permanently deleted.

Downloading Your Facebook accounts Data

As deactivating your account will not not actually permanently delete it. There is always the opinion to reactivate it at a later date. Before actually deleting it you may first want to secure any data contained on the account. Those family pictures, videos and posts from loved ones are much too precious to loose. Luckily there is a way to  download an archive of all your facebook data which will help you to store any inportant data. To download an archive of your facebook data
  • Click on the arrow button located next to the question mark symbol on the navigation bar and click on Settings.
  • Here, you will see the option General Account Settings.
  • Click on Download a copy of your Facebook data, which you can find under Manage Account page
  • You will see a Download your Information option, here you must click on the green button that reads Start My Archive.
  • You need to enter your password in the pop-up window
  • Click on Submit
  • Click on the blue button that reads Start My Archive
  • A link to the archive will be sent by Facebook in your email
  • Visit the link and click on Download Archive on the resulting page
  • Re-enter your password
  • Select the location where the data is to be stored and click on Save button.
How To Permanently Delete your Facebook Account?  Now you can choose to permanently delete your account or deactivate it. If you do decide to request to delete your account Facebook will give you 14 days grace by still saving your account in case you change your mind. I have been thankful for this option myself a few times when I've deactivated my account in anger I admit. To Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account.   
  • Next to the question mark symbol you will find a down arrow button, click it to find Settings
  • Click on Settings>General Account Settings>Apps
  • When you are on the apps and settings page you will see a number of listed apps.
  • To individually delete the apps, select each app and click on remove.
  • Now head to the Help Center and click on
  • Now head to the Help Center and click on Delete My Account button in the blue color
  • A pop-up box will appear asking you to enter your password followed by a CAPTCHA code
  • Click on OK when you are done
  • Another pop-up box will appear stating that the account will be deleted in 14 days; click on OK to confirm
  •  button in the blue color
  • A pop-up box will appear asking you to enter your password followed by a CAPTCHA code
  • Click on OK when you are done
  • Another pop-up box will appear stating that the account will be deleted in 14 days; click on OK to confirm
It is important that you do access your facebook account then for 14 days for your deletion process to be completed. I know how easy it is to automatically do this when logging into a browser that was your go too for facebook. Deleting any third party options you may have used for facebook access is your best option at this point. Deleting Your Facebook Search History Facebook stores your search history in the form of a list. To delete search history permanently follow these guidelines:

Deleting From The Desktop

  • Visit the Facebook home page and click on the search bar
  • Click on the Edit option
  • Alternately you can visit your timeline page and click on View Activity Log>More>Search
  • When you are on the Search History page, you can delete individual searches by clicking Edit>Delete>Remove Search
  • To delete all your searchers click on the Clear Searches option located on the top of the page
  • To delete search history from your Smartphone, follow these steps:
  • Open the Facebook app on your phone and click on three horizontal lines
  • Scroll down to find the option Activity Log, tap on it
  • Now, tap on Filter option on the Activity Log page
  • Find the option Search from the list and tap on it
  • Facebook search history will be displayed to you
  • Tap on x and Remove to remove a search individually
  • To delete entire Facebook history in a single go tap on Clear Searches>Confirm

How To Delete Facebook Comments You Ever Posted?

To permanently delete your Facebook comments, follow these steps:
  • Either visit your timeline and click on Activity Log button or find the comment to be deleted manually on your timeline/status
  • In the top-left corner, you will see an arrow appear, click on it
  • To remove the comment click on the Pencil icon and select Remove or else, to remove someone else’s comment click on X
  • How to delete the Facebook picture you posted ever since your account creation?
You can delete individual photos or entire albums, the choice is all yours. To delete photos individually, follow these steps
  • Select Photos and bring your mouse over the photo you want to delete
  • A little pencil icon will appear
  • Click on that icon and select Delete This Photo

How To Delete Facebook Activity Log?

Activity Log on Facebook stores all your activities including uploaded content and shared posts in chronological order. You can access the log by clicking on Activity Log button available at the lower right corner of your Cover Photo. To delete activity log simply click on this link Find the Pencil item that will be present next to every search. In the menu, there will be Delete button. You need to click on it to remove the events. Please note that some events cannot be deleted such as Like can just be changed to Unlike. Similarly, Friends can be Unfriended only or you can mark them Hidden from Timeline.

How To Delete Your Facebook Albums?

To delete full album follow these steps:
  • Select Albums option located at the top of the Photos page
  • A thumbnail will appear showcasing the list of all albums you have uploaded so far on Facebook
  • Select the album you wish to delete and on the next page click on Delete Album button, which will be available on the circular widget next to Edit button

How To Delete Facebook Contacts?

You must have uploaded loads of contacts on your Facebook so to have a look at those contacts which you need to delete, visit Facebook>Manage Invites>Imported Contacts page. On that page, you will see all of your contacts. You can either delete the contacts one-by-one or choose to remove them all in one click. This can be done by clicking on Remove All Contacts and confirm the removal by clicking on Remove.

How To Delete Facebook Location History?

To disable Facebook location tracking feature, you can follow these steps:
  • Visit Settings menu and click on Privacy
  • Find Location Services
  • Click on Facebook
  • Click on Never
In this way, Facebook will not be able to access or store your location data. To delete Location History from Facebook, follow these steps
  • On your Facebook timeline, click on More tab located at the bottom right corner
  • Scroll down and find the Settings menu
  • Look for Activity Log and click on it
  • Click on Filter
  • Click on Clear Location History
  • Click on Confirm

How To Permanently Delete Facebook Messages, Chat And Group Chats?

To delete an entire conversation from Messages inbox, visit Messages in the top left of the Facebook profile page and click on the conversation you want to delete. Click on Delete option at the top right corner. To delete various conversations from Facebook Messenger you need to open all threads by clicking on the See All option and select Delete.   In Conclusion  In no way am I advising that you should rush out and delete your facebook account. That is something that only you can decide to do. I do advise you take the time to consider all options available. Thankfully the 14 days grace will give you a safety net should hindsight make you change your mind. For so many of us Facebook is the only way to keep up with family members or friends that live far away. So please think carefully before action. We are as always available and happy to assist you with any questions you may have from our forum.